Ankara University

Prof. Dr. Ömer YAVAŞ
Ankara University Faculty of Engineering
Physics Engineering Department, Tandoğan, Ankara
Accelerator Technologies Institute, Gölbaşı, Ankara

He was born in 1961 in Korkuteli district of Antalya. He graduated from Ankara University, Faculty of Science, Department of Physics Engineering in 1982. He became a Master of Physics Engineer in 1985, and a Doctor of Physics Engineering in 1992. He continued his academic life, which he started as a research assistant in the Department of Physics Engineering of Ankara University Faculty of Science in 1983, with the title of Doctor in 1992, Assistant Professor in 1993 and Associate Professor in 1996. In July 2003, he was appointed as a professor in Ankara University Faculty of Engineering, Physics Engineering Department, High Energy Physics Department.

He published nearly 300 scientific articles and papers in his academic life. He advised 10 doctorate and 30 master theses. He took part in 18 different research projects, nine of which were executive. Within the framework of research projects and bilateral agreements, he worked and made presentations in the world’s leading accelerator and radiation centers, especially CERN and DESY.

Between 2010-2015, he was the founding director of Ankara University Accelerator Technologies Institute, the first and only in Turkey. He worked as a project manager for 18 years between 1999-2017 in the first three phases of the “Turkish Accelerator Center” project, which was carried out with the support of the Ministry of Development and in cooperation with universities.

Currently, he is a lecturer in Ankara University Physics Engineering Department, a member of the Board of Engineering Faculty and the Board of Nuclear Sciences Institute, a member of the National Experimental Parapet Physics Supreme Board, a member of the Balkan Physics Union Council, a member of the TAEK-CERN Projects Advisory Committee, and the Chair of the FMO Physical Engineering Education Commission.

Turkish Physical Society Prof. Dr. He has the Engin Arık Scientist Award (2010), the Chamber of Physical Engineers Honor Award (2010), the American Physical Society Marschak Lectureship Award (2012) and the TFD Honor Award (2017).
He is married and has a daughter.